Happy New Year!
California drivers may not be aware that a new year often means new driving laws. This year, several new laws will affect Orange County and Los Angeles area motorists.
The car accident attorneys at Allen, Flatt, Ballidis and Leslie present this quick summary to help you stay safe on the road in 2010.
• The cost of new and renewed driver’s licenses has increased from $28 to $31.
• Front-seat video screens are now permitted in vehicles. However, in order to prevent distracted driving, they must be arranged in a way that prevents the driver from viewing the screen.
• Drivers approaching a non-moving emergency vehicle or tow truck with either a siren or flashing emergency lights can, if it is safe to do so, move into an available lane that is not adjacent to the emergency vehicle. If not, the driver must slow down to prevent injury to emergency workers.
On July 1st, the following laws will go into effect.
• Convicted DUI offenders in Los Angeles, Alameda, Sacramento and Tulare counties will be required to install ignition interlock devices in every vehicle they own or operate as a condition to having their driver’s license reinstated, issued or reissued.
• The DMV will be required to advise second and third time misdemeanor DUI offenders that they may receive a restricted driver’s license after their license suspension is served only if they enroll in a DUI program and install an ignition interlock device.
Category: Car Accidents
There are no comments.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "2010 brings new California driving laws"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."